The low- and middle-income countries (LMICs) roundtable will focus on the challenges for people living with dementia and their caregivers in developing nations how the international community can help to accelerate progress towards overcoming them. It will be co-chaired by Meera Pattabiraman, chair of the Alzheimer’s and Related Disorders Society of India and member of the World Dementia Council and Paola Barbarino, CEO of Alzheimer’s Disease International and member of the World Dementia Council.

 

Thursday 11 March 2021
Virtual meeting
08:00 GMT-3 Rio De Janeiro | 11:00 GMT London | 12:00 CET Central Europe | 16:30 IST New Delhi | 18:00 WIB Jakarta | 19:00 CST Beijing

 

Divider

Co-chairs

PaolaPaola Barbarino

Paola is the CEO of Alzheimer’s Disease International. Prior to that, she was CEO of LIFE. Her previous senior positions include Cass Business School, Tate, British Library and IIED. She is a Trustee of The Postal Museum and Lauderdale House. Previously she was a Trustee of Shelter, the UK housing and homelessness charity and of MLA London. She is also the Managing Director of Opaline Limited, a consultancy company specializing in strategy and governance. She holds a degree cum laude in Classics from the University of Napoli Federico II, an MA in Field and Analytical Techniques in Archaeology and an MA in Library and Information Science both from University College London.

MeeraMeera Pattabiraman

Meera Pattabiraman is Chair of the Alzheimer’s and Related Disorders Society of India (ARDSI). She has been working in the field of dementia care, management and advocacy for the past 18 years. A post graduate in business administration, she entered the field of social work and dementia care because of her personal experience of being a carer for her father who had Alzheimer’s disease. Meera Pattabiraman was part of the editorial board that produced the India Dementia Report in 2010, which is now used by the Ministry of Health and the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment as the reference guide in all matters relating to dementia. She is also part of the national think tank to develop better healthcare for the elderly and has taken part in national health policy meetings.

Divider

Other events in the series

To inform the dementia landscape report, the Council is hosting virtual workshops for international dementia leaders focusing on key themes of research, care and prevention that were identified at the London dementia summit in 2013. In addition, the Council is hosting smaller roundtables that will focus on additional key themes and new policy priorities that we have agreed to highlight in the report, including data sharing and dementia registries, and technology in the health and social care sector. See more below.

  • Roundtable: Technology

    Thursday 4 March 2021

    Divider

    Co-chaired by Jeremy Hughes and Vaibhav Narayan, this roundtable will explore technology in prevention and the maintenance of brain health, technology to maintain and improve daily function, and technology that assists in the provision of patient-centred health and social care.

  • Workshop: Research II

    Tuesday 9 March 2021

    Divider

    Co-chaired by Dr Maria Carrillo and Professor Philip Scheltens, this workshop is a follow up to the first which convened in November 2020.

  • Workshop: Prevention

    Tuesday 9 February 2021

    Divider

    Co-chaired by Professor Kaarin Anstey and Professor Philippe Amouyel, this workshop examined the evidence base for dementia prevention programmes and some of the current research happening in the field, prevention programmes and their practical implementation, as well as some of the lessons from other public health initiatives. Professor Carol Brayne, Dr Michele Cecchini and Dr Yoshiki Niimi presented their thinking ahead of an open discussion.

  • Workshop: Care

    Friday 5 February 2021

    Divider

    Co-chaired by Professor Brian Lawlor and Paul Hogan, this workshop covered progress made in the field of care and the challenges that remain, exploring models of care, the burden of caregivers, and art and music in dementia. Professor Felicity Barker, Professor Louise Robinson, Professor Mary Sano and Dr Samir Sinha presented their thinking ahead of an open discussion.

  • Workshop: Research

    Wednesday 18 November 2020

    Divider

    Co-chaired by Dr Maria Carrillo and Professor Philip Scheltens, this workshop covered two themes selected based on their importance in the field: early detection and biomarkers; and advances in treatment. Speakers included Professor Oskar Hansson, Dr Cath Mummery, Dr Eric Siemers and Professor Reisa Sperling.