A global dialogue on the lived experience of dementia is taking place on 1 November 2021 and will gather international leaders to discuss this area of focus as part of the dementia landscape project. This dialogue will be led by Hilary Doxford, former Vice Chair of the European Working Group of People with Dementia, Alzheimer's Society ambassador and member of the World Dementia Council, and Maryna Lehmann, dementia advocate from South Africa and member of the World Dementia Council.

Monday 1 November 2021

07:00 PDT San Francisco | 09:00 CDT Chicago | 10:00 EDT New York | 14:00 GMT London | 15:00 CET Central Europe
60 minutes

Divider

Chairs

HilaryHilary Doxford

Hilary Doxford is a former Vice Chair European Working Group of People with Dementia, Ambassador Alzheimer's Society speaking nationally and internationally as a person with dementia. She was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s disease at the age of 53. Hilary Doxford also volunteers for the Alzheimer’s Society in England as part of their research network and user involvement programme; is a champion for “Join Dementia Research;” and is a member of Dementia Alliance International. She is a founder member of the UK Three Nations Dementia Working Group, established in 2017 to advocate for people with dementia and to collaborate with professionals working in the field.

MarynaMaryna Lehmann

Maryna Lehmann was diagnosed with dementia in February 2018 at the age of 58, and lives in George, South Africa. She was born in Johannesburg, South Africa, in 1960. She is the eldest of 5 siblings and matriculated in 1977. She enrolled for a BSc (Agric.) at Pretoria University and completed the Honours Degree in 1981. She married the same year. Her husband, André, retired in February 2019 to take care of her. In January 1982 she was employed as a farm manager of 300 sow piggery, 400 extensive cattle, 3000 head in feedlot. In the next 18 years she reared 4 sons and taught in numerous agriculture schools. On 1 January 2000 she joined Nelson Mandela University, as the Animal Science lecturer and completed a Masters Degree in Animal Science. She received numerous accolades such as upcoming researcher and upcoming teacher in 2006 and also received the "overall" teacher of the year award in 2007.

Divider

Other dialogues in the series

To inform the dementia landscape report, the Council has hosted global dialogues for international dementia leaders focusing on key themes of research, care and prevention that were identified at the London dementia summit in 2013, as well as on additional key themes and new policy priorities that we have agreed to highlight in the report. See below for other upcoming dialogues.