A global dialogue on early career scientists in dementia is taking place on 10 November 2021 and will gather international leaders to discuss this area of focus as part of the dementia landscape project. This dialogue will be led by Professor Anja Leist, co-chair of World Young Leaders in Dementia and Professor Paulo Caramelli, professor of neurology at the Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil.

Wednesday 10 November 2021

06:00 PST San Francisco | 08:00 CST Chicago | 09:00 EST New York | 14:00 GMT London | 15:00 CET Central Europe
90 minutes

Divider

Chairs

AnjaProfessor Anja Leist

Anja Leist is Associate Professor in Public Health and Ageing at the University of Luxembourg. Her research focuses on cognitive ageing and dementia, technology and ageing, and health inequalities from a social epidemiological and life course perspective. Anja is PI on several grants, among them a grant from the European Research Council, to pursue innovative research on cognitive ageing and dementia from a prevention and risk reduction perspective, with a focus on lifestyle behaviours and inequalities related to education and gender. Anja is elected Fellow of the Gerontological Society of America, and cofounder and advisor to the World Young Leaders in Dementia (WYLD) network that is now spanning 30 countries and 250+ professionals in the fields of dementia research, care, and innovation.

PauloProfessor Paulo Caramelli

Paulo Caramelli obtained his MD degree in 1987 at the University of São Paulo (USP) School of Medicine, in São Paulo, Brazil and completed the residency program in Neurology at the same institution in 1991. Research fellow at the University of Montréal, Canada, from 1992 to 1994. In 1997, he completed a PhD in Neurological Sciences at USP. He is currently Professor of Neurology at the Faculty of Medicine of the Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG) and Coordinator of the Behavioral and Cognitive Neurology Research Group at UFMG, in Belo Horizonte, Brazil. Member of the International Working Group on Neurocognitive Disorders of the World Health Organization for the Revision of ICD-11 (2011 – 2017). Current member of the Advisory Council of the Alzheimer's Association International Society to Advance Alzheimer's Research and Treatment (ISTAART). Editor of Arquivos de Neuro-Psiquiatria. Associate editor of eNeurologicalSci and Journal of Alzheimer's Disease, as well as member of the editorial board of the European Journal of Neurology and Neurological Sciences. His research activities are focused on epidemiological, clinical and translational studies on brain aging, cognitive impairment and dementia.

Divider

Other dialogues in the series

To inform the dementia landscape report, the Council has hosted global dialogues for international dementia leaders focusing on key themes of research, care and prevention that were identified at the London dementia summit in 2013, as well as on additional key themes and new policy priorities that we have agreed to highlight in the report. See below for other upcoming dialogues.